Matt Suderman Interview

Back in November 2013*, I caught up with 31 year old defenceman Matt Suderman, who was the Hull Stingrays’ Captain at the time, for an interview in the Devils programme. Suderman then decided to leave the club for personal reasons in December.

The stay-at-home Defenceman, who hails from Manitoba in Canada, was drafted in 2001 by the Atlanta Thrashers and has played over 170 games in the Central Hockey League. After leaving the Stingrays, 6’3″ Suderman signed for the Bramton Beast of the CHL.

Photo: Arthur Foster Via EliteProspects
Photo: Arthur Foster Via EliteProspects

It’s your first time playing for the Hull Stingrays, how are you enjoying your time there so far?
Ya I’m enjoying it here, obviously I’m no stranger to the Elite League so I knew what the hockey side was about coming in, and I think clouts has done an amazing job putting together a team with what he’s given. We’ve got a great group of guys that seem to be getting closer as the season goes on.

You previously played in the EIHL for the Dundee Stars during the 2010/11 season and were due to return the following season but couldn’t due to illness. Can you tell me a bit about this?
Just prior to my season in 09/10, I became very ill and spent a couple of weeks in the hospital; I was diagnosed as a type 1 diabetic. Shortly after, I took off to play in France and had no idea how to really deal with my new condition. After two years of playing I had some test results that indicated I wasn’t doing well and it was recommended that I take some time away and really figure it out, so that’s what I did and it’s made me more aware and also a much hungrier hockey player.

You’ve fought some big names in your hockey career, including Deryk Engelland, Erick Lizon and Devils’ very own Max Birbraer. What has been your most memorable fight and why?
There’s been a few over the years, I can remember one back in the ’06 playoffs in the central league that may or may not have helped us eventually win the series, I like to think it did. But to be honest that’s not a part of my game that I take much pride in, if something happens on the ice where I have to step in, to me that’s just being a teammate in the sport of hockey.

The stingrays visited the Big Blue Tent last week and a stand out player was Guillaume Doucet who scored 4 goals. As Captain, what other players should the Devils fans watch out for tonight and why?
To me in the early portion of this season, Doucet is playing at a level matched by few in the league. His overall work ethic, strength on the puck and skill set are all impressive. Cardiff fans are obviously aware of Jereme Tendler, the guy can score from anywhere. Matty Davies, a spark plug out there he’s always fun to watch. And a guy I think will be a force in this league in the future once he gets a little more seasoning is Bobby Chamberlain.

And finally, you’ve been to watch a Hull City football match recently. How was this experience and do you have any other hobbies/interests outside of hockey?
I pay much more attention to football when I’m over here. It’s just so hard when I’m back home, but I’d call myself a football fan. I’ve been to a couple Hull City games this year and I’m turning into a big Tigers fan! My only big hobby is golf, in the summertime; I’d say I play an average of 4 or 5 rounds a week. I’d say the three sports I follow the most are golf, tennis and baseball.

*Interview first appeared in the Cardiff Devils match night programme on 10/11/13

Leave a comment